Mike Carey Had Confusing, Wrong Explanation of Tom Brady Pylon Play

On this Tom Brady running play, which was ruled on the field not to be a touchdown and was challenged by Bill Belichick, Mike Carey initially said that a body part would need to be down in the end zone for it to count as a score. As Mike Pereira, who is a much better explainer for these sorts of things, tweeted:
Ball has to get over or inside the pylon
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) January 16, 2016
Same type of play last week in Washington. No foot in the EZ so the ball has to get over or inside of pylon. interesting what other shots.
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) January 16, 2016
By the way, touching the plyon does not put you out of bounds. I think it might have been a TD but it was not indisputable. Stands was right
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) January 16, 2016
(Carey did kind of say those things as well, but the body part thing was, um, not correct.)
After the ruling on the field stood, Carey said he would have reversed it. What do we reckon his batting average is on these explanations?