The Big LeadThe Big Lead

Billy Horschel was Angry at Masters Officials After His Ball was Blown Off the Green

None

Billy Horschel made a costly mistake during the third round of the Masters. Horschel left his ball on the putting surface on the par-5 15th green and as he was reading his putt, a gust of wind blew his ball off the green and into the pond in front of it. His ball was on the surface and therefore in play even if it was marked because he never removed it, but Horschel appeared unhappy with the ruling and berated Masters officials. He was allowed to drop just off the back of the green and hit his fourth shot from there.

Hopefully Horschel learned a lesson and will mark and pick up his ball until he’s ready to putt.

He walked away with a bogey.

Here’s the USGA’s rule on “Ball in Play Moved by Wind or Gravity.”