2014 Baseball Hall of Fame Class: Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine & Frank Thomas Elected, Craig Biggio Narrowly Misses Out

By Mike Cardillo

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas were elected to Baseball Hall of Fame Tuesday afternoon. All three were in their first year on the ballot. Craig Biggio narrowly missed out, receiving 74.8 percent of the vote — 75 percent is the threshold. Jack Morris, in his final year on the ballot, only receivedd 61.5 percent.

16 voters didn’t pick Maddux — not just one — so he finished with 97.2 percent of the vote — short of Tom Seaver’s record of 98.8.

Mike Piazza finished with 62.2 percent, while Jeff Bagwell got 54.3 percent.

Players from the ‘Steroid Era’ such as Roger Clemens (35.4 percent) and Barry Bonds (34.7 percent) each lost votes from the last ballot. Rafeal Palmeiro only got 4.4 percent of the votes and will fall off the ballot. Sammy Sosa, another player with a PED cloud hanging over him, stays on the ballot another year after receiving 7.2 percent.

Sadly Sean Casey, Ray Durham, Todd Jones, Richie Sexson, Mike Timlin, and Paul Lo Duca did not receive a single vote.

Everyone grab their torches and pitchforks and commence the yelling.

Related: MLB Hall of Fame Voter Only Voted for Jack Morris, Left Greg Maddux Off Ballot
Related: 2014 Hall of Fame Ballot: The Good, the Bad and the Ridiculous New Candidates