The Big LeadThe Big Lead

VIDEO: Why In The World Was This LSU Catch Allowed?

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA - OCTOBER 26: Thaddeus Moss #81 of the LSU Tigers makes a catch against Jeremiah Dinson #20 of the Auburn Tigers during the first half at Tiger Stadium on October 26, 2019 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

LSU is all over Alabama, outplaying them on the field and getting some help from the officials. One of their many touchdowns came after a questionable call allowed a Thaddeus Moss completion to stand near the goal line.

Moss appeared to step out of bounds on his volition before making the grab. An official review upheld the catch, somehow, despite the clear and concise explanation from rules analyst Gene Steratore who said it should have been illegal touching.

I have thought about this from every angle and still can't understand what happened here. Perplexing stuff.

Of course, the Tigers are dominating in every facet of the game and probably would have found the end zone anyway, but still a weird happenstance.