Peru "Hand of God" Goal Eliminates Brazil From Copa America, 1-0

By Jason McIntyre
facebooktwitter

Peru pulled a massive upset at Copa America, shocking favored Brazil 1-0. In the span of five hours, Brazil went from tied for first in its group to knocked out of Copa America.

But all anyone is going to talk about is the goal in the 75th minute.

Raul Ruidiaz, a 25-year old nicknamed the “Peruvian Messi,” clearly knocked the ball into the goal with his hand. The referees thought they saw something, so they discussed it for a few chaotic minutes.

Then they allowed the goal.

Replays showed Ruidiaz knocked the ball in with his hand, and how on earth did refs not review this? At what point does FIFA get with the 21st century and get reply on goals?

Brazil – coming off an embarrassing World Cup exit on its home turf to Germany in 2014 (the 7-1 loss) – now deals with the ignominy of not advancing beyond the group stage of Copa America.

This probably is the most talked-about handball in soccer since Diego Maradona did this in the 1986 World Cup.

Peru will face Colombia in the quarterfinals. Ecuador will play the USA.

facebooktwitter