Jonathan Quick Knocked Net Off Its Mooring, Denied Russia Potential Game-Winning Goal

By Mike Cardillo

Jonathan Quick knocked the net, ever-so-slightly, off it’s mooring to deny Fedor Tyutin what appeared to be go-ahead goal late in the third period of the USA/Russia hockey game Saturday. The goal would have put Russia ahead 3-2. The referees reviewed it and waved it off.

Under international rules, goals do not count when the goal is off its moorings. Apparently under NHL rules the goal would have counted.

Quick’s fortunate slip into the frame helped send the game into overtime.